ORTL PAC Statement on Oregon Election Results

The following is a statement from Oregon Right to Life PAC on the 2016 General Election results:

Last night, pro-life Oregonians achieved successes and gained ground:

  • Pro-life candidate Dennis Richardson was elected Secretary of State, defeating extreme pro-abortion candidate Brad Avakian.  Avakian had received tens of thousands of dollars in support from Planned Parenthood and NARAL.  He supports abortion up until the moment of birth.
  • All pro-life seats in the State Legislature were retained.  Five open seats were retained by pro-life candidates, some fighting off well funded attacks by pro-abortion candidates or groups.  Rep. Mike Nearman resisted a heavy attack by pro-abortion groups and kept his seat in HD 23.
  • The following new pro-life legislators will serve starting in 2017: Dennis Linthicum (SD 28), David Brock Smith (HD 1), Ron Noble (HD 24), Rich Vial (HD 26), and Werner Reschke (HD 56).
“For years we’ve heard that pro-life candidates can’t win in Oregon,” said GayleAtteberry, Executive Director of Oregon Right to Life.  “Last night, pro-life voters reminded the political establishment that this is not true.  We made a statement that pro-life candidates can win, even statewide, in Oregon, and yesterday’s election proved that to be so.  We look forward to working with Secretary of State Richardson and Oregon’s new pro-life legislators next year and beyond.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

get involved

Sign Up and Stay Informed